This one made made me think

Thoughts and responses regarding the research at acousticlearning.com.
png

This one made made me think

Postby png » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:57 am

When I started learning music, I had many exercises in solfege.
As most of the students, I had relative pitch - so these exercises were
about the teacher played a note than an other one, and we had to tell
what is the difference, in musical terms.
Let me say, it wasn't the easiest - at first.
I mixed up similar sounding intervals, like fifth/fourth, but eventually
after practicing, I noticed the differences between them.
Right now, I can differentiate and name every interval, even if it is
above an octave ( so ninth, thirteenth, etc... ).
Later the teacher introduced the scales, and the modes. Like Ionian,
myxolid, etc., and we had to learn to think in scale degrees. Now this
had also require practice, maybe even more than doing the interval thing.

What I'm about explain, that even if I had relative pitch, it didn't mean
that I can do every exercise at all.
Yes I heard, that it is a major second, and it heard it in a relative way,
but when the teacher played me a new note-pair I couldn't tell, if it is
the same or not.

So at that moment, I had relative pitch, without the ability the name the
intervals.

Is there a similar experience for perfect pitch? Maybe we can hear, or at least
interpret the notes like a perfect pitch person, but can't name the notes.
Maybe, as I mixed up some intervals in my head, it is possible that an unexperienced
person with perfect pitch will mix some notes.
Some could say that for a person with perfect pitch these are so different that it is
no way that he/she could mix them up.
Really? I could say for this now to intervals -> I mixed the fourth/fifth, but now I feel
that they are so much different I couldn't remember how could I mix up these two.

So, this made me think -> Is it possible to hear like a perfect pitch person?