A New Approach

Thoughts and responses regarding the research at acousticlearning.com.
zacxpacx

A New Approach

Postby zacxpacx » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:10 pm

Hey All,

I'm relatively new to Chris's website and his research, but not to the pursuit of perfect pitch. It's an ability I've wished I had since I was very young learning to play the violin. To anyone else who plays a stringed instrument, it's impossible to deny how useful perfect pitch would be. I've been training for several months on David Lucas Burge's course. Recently, after tons of emailing and searching for confirmation that the course did in fact work, I came to the realization it doesn't.

That's when I began looking for another method, and it is how I stumbled upon this site. I'm still working my way through Chris's big body of research but have already had time to conceive and write down my own ideas on the topic. There certainly is a TON of research, and I truly appreciate Chris for having given so much effort in the pursuit of how perfect pitch can be learned.

I sent Chris an email the other day with a write-up I made on a perfect pitch learning idea with some ramblings thrown in. He suggested I post it here. At first, I didn't want to, but I decided I'd give it a shot.

At the risk of sounding pretentious: The biggest realization I've had looking through this forum is that we really don't know what the next step in the pursuit of perfect pitch is. And some people don't even think we have the first step right (that of perceptual differentiation via Absolute Pitch Avenue). Hoping that perfect pitch can be solved in our lifetime, I yearn for a more structured approach than simply speculating and critiquing. There are plenty of members that are great individual thinkers, all with unique approaches to the challenge that is perfect pitch.

For Example:
Gavriel (if you happen to see this, please come back! your posts were great and it seems like you've left the forum)
Cjhealey
Lyle
Lorelei
Koenig